How to Upgrade your Older Version of the Lien Programs®


The latest version of the Lien Programs® has some radical changes within. You, for the most part, will not see the change in the usage of the program, but because of these changes we you must make sure your databases stay in sync, than is; they are of the same version. Normally, the program will simply update your program and database files, preserving all your records. But, if you have a situation, say, where you have an older version of the database on a server, but you now have to connect a newer program to that database, they may be out of sync. This will manifest itself in various data errors occurring if you attempt install the new program on a computer, when it is not connected to the server database, via the Network Data Path.


The current version defaults to a directory named “c:\program files\lien program”. If this is where your current database is at, find where your old data files are located. Start your old program one more time. Select “Help” from the Main Menu. Select “Display System Status”. There will be an entry called “Default Drive”. Write down the path name listed. You can also use the F12 key to print the screen. Save this name.


Single Station Upgrade: Starting the program installer. You can override the installation location, but we do not recommend this. Run the program once installed (you can use the Start Menu or Desktop Icons). If this is an installation with a database on the local drive, it will automatically update. If this is an installation with a server database already connected to the program, the server database will automatically update. If this is a new install, or your yearly registration is required, you will need to get your Registration Code from FWM Software at (530) 622-1344, but don’t enter your company information, etc., as we will get that from your old data. If an new install, but with a database on the server that you want to connect to, and you know the data is already in sync (same version) then all you have to do is go to page 8 of Defaults for Lien Program and enter the new Network Data Path:



When the Defaults are closed, the program will ask for a confirmation of the change and the databases will immediately connect


:

Warning!: If you know or suspect the new program and server databases will be out of sync if they are connected, use the deploy feature to sync them first (see below).


Multiple Station Upgrade: Server – There is no need to install the program on a server. All you need is a legal and accessible location to place the data, i.e. F:\Lien Program, S:\, etc. To connect to a server database already in sync with your programs, all you have to do is go to page 9 of Defaults for Lien Program and enter the new Network Data Path:




When the Defaults are closed, the program will ask for a confirmation of the change and the databases will immediately connect:



Warning!: If you know or suspect the new program and server databases will be out of sync if they are connected, use the deploy feature to sync them first (see below).


Multiple Station Upgrade: Stations - If you have a network license for multiple users on your first station. If the stations are already connected to the server database, you will be asked to update the server database and indexes automatically. DO SO ONCE (Ok, Ok, Yes, and Yes):


For every subsequent station installation, the answers will be faster: Ok, Ok, NO and NO. It is not necessary to update and re-index the server database twice. If they were connected before, they will be connected after the installs.


If you add stations after the upgrade, you will need to go to page 9 of Defaults for Lien Program and enter the new Network Data Path for each station.



When the Defaults are closed, the program will ask for a confirmation of the change and the databases will immediately connect

.


Warning!: If you know or suspect the new program and server databases will be out of sync if they are connected, use the deploy feature to sync them first (see below).


Deploying a Database: There are two reasons for deploying a database:


Create a new location: One is to move the database to a new location. For example, if you have the database in your default c:\program files\lien program but would like to move it to another location, from the Main Menu select Setup / File Maintenance / Deploy a Database.


Confirm that you are the only user of your Lien Program® current in the database.


The Choose New or Update Database Location screen will appear with the current location.


Specify the new location and press ‘Ok’: If the new location does not exist, it will ask to create it.


Upon your confirm, the database will be copied to the new location (the old location is saved and untouched) and the Network Data Path on page 8 of Defaults for Lien Program is changed to reflect the changed location.


If you have other stations that were connected before the Deploy, you will have to boot them one by one, and go to page 8 of Defaults for Lien Program and change the Network Data Path to reflect the new location of the database


Update an Old Location and Sync the databases: The second reason to use deploy is to sync your databases where you have a newer program trying to connect to an older database. Normally, you would simply update a connected station with a newer program and the older server database will be update automatically. But, for example, you could have a situation, such as when a station computer and attendant Lien Program® has to be suddenly updated without updating the old station as an option (computer crash, replacement of old machine, etc.), and the older database on your server is now out of sync with the newer program on the station. From the Main Menu select Setup / File Maintenance / Deploy a Database.


Confirm that you are the only user of your Lien Program® current in the database.


The Choose New or Update Database Location screen will appear with the current location


Change the path to the existing database you intend to update.


Press ‘Ok’. Upon your confirmation, the program will detect the old, out of sync database, and give you three options.


YES: This option will replace the data in the older database with the data from your currently selected database. In the example above, all the data in the “R:\Liendata\Western Materials” database will be replaced with the current “R:\Liendata\New Data” database. This is not the option you would normally use to sync your database;


NO: This option will preserve and update the older database and sync it with you new program. In the example above, the “R:\Liendata\New Data” is disconnected but otherwise untouched, while the older “R:\Liendata\Western Materials” database is updated and synced with the new program, putting you back in business;


CANCEL: Ends all further operations, returning the program to the status quo.


If you have other stations that were connected before the Deploy, you will have to boot them one by one, and go to page 8 of Defaults for Lien Program and change the Network Data Path to reflect the new location of the database;


Created with the Personal Edition of HelpNDoc: Easy CHM and documentation editor